Catch Up With Noreen Khan

As I’m obsessed with radio and music since childhood, I thought why not interview a radio personality and who would be better than DJ Noreen Khan from the BBC Asian Network.

But before you read my chit chat with her, let’s see why Noreen Khan is so fabulous, she really is. 

1).  She has a weekday radio show on the BBC Asian Network from 13:30 to 17:00, awarded the “Best Radio Show” at the Asian Media Awards 2015.

 
2).  When she’s not on air, she’s running her businesses. 

 
3). She’s danced on stage with Shahrukh Khan.  These Khans! 

4).  She loves horses….

  
5).  And Madhuri….

 
6).  Noreen is obsessed with Banana Cakes!

 
7). Not as much as she’s obsessed with Liverpool FC.  

 
8). So much that she wore the first and probably the only LFC Saree. 

 
9).  She loves her Bollywood and retro stuff that she even possesses a Meena Kumari denim jacket.

 
10). And her all time favourite lady is Manroe.. 

 
Here goes the chit chat: 

I always hear phrases like “The Queen of Asian Radio” and “There is no Asian Network without Noreen Khan” which is a great reputation you’ve earned over the 12 years in Presenting and almost 8 with BBC Asian Network, how do you feel? Did you ever think you would get this far when you were may be at school?

I honestly never thought I would hear phrases like this! It’s obviously really lovely and it’s all down to my loyal listeners who have helped the show to become a real success.

  
Many Asian parents tend to hope their children pursue a career in Medical field, Law or Engineering. I am guessing this was expected from you too?

Actually it wasn’t at all. I’m very fortunate I have totally cool parents who never pushed us into any particular careers. They always said we’ll support you in whatever makes you happy which is why I love them so much.

I believe there is a lack of young girls in British Pakistani community who want to pursue a career in Media, be it acting, presenting or singing etc. Why do you think that is and how could this be changed?

This could be a cultural thing as it’s not always considered the first choice for many parents for their daughters to go into media or acting and this can then prevent them from pursuing a career in this field.

So what would be your advice be to young Asian youngsters in wanting a career in Radio?

If you’re passionate about it and really want to do it I’m sure you can win your parents round. Just don’t give up.

Congratulations on launching your own businesses, Noreen Khan Couture and NK Accessories. What has the feedback been like?

It’s been fantastic and I’d like to thank everyone out there who has supported the ventures so well!

How often are you adding new items to your fashion line and can we expect something for the poor boys too soon?

I’ve had a lot of messages from my male followers on twitter asking for a male range in clothing and accessories so it’s something I will definitely look into!

So what’s next? Surely career and life goals don’t end here?

It never stops with me, I’m always looking to the next thing. If you stop life becomes stagnant and a little dull, well for me anyway. I have a few plans but nothing that I can divulge just yet I’m afraid.

If you were approached by Karan Johar for a leading role in his next, what would your response be?

A big yes! Gotta OK it with my mum first though hahahaha.

You went to the same school as singer Nafees, tell us more about it? How was he like at school? Were you friends?

I was in the same year as his sister and she was a good friend…I just remember Nafees being an energetic happy young lad!

I believe you and Tommy Sandhu from the Asian Network for filming in LA quite a while ago, can you give a hint on what it was for?

Yes we filmed a pilot out there for a potential dating show where we help American women find a suitable partner using our desi tactics!

Something nobody knows about you? 

I eat way too many cakes and biscuits and like adding mayonnaise in my curry!

Many ladies would be interested in knowing the secret to your long hair, any tips?

Use natural hair oils like almond and coconut oil. Drink lots of water and don’t put too much heat on your via hairdryers, straighteners etc.

What is your most embarrassing moment?

Can’t say!

Which three people (famous or otherwise) would you most like to invite to a dinner party?

Jurgen Klopp, Madhuri Dixit and Russell Brand…imagine us 4 round a table!!

Your most favourite present day singer from Bollywood?

I love Shreya Ghosal’s voice, she’s awesome.

How can readers interact with you and perhaps tune into your show?

I’m on twitter and Instagram as DJNoreenKhan and on Fbook as just Noreen Khan.

Finally, which blog site should everyone be reading?

Obviously The Brown Lad!

Leave a comment